SmartWalk – Privacy Compliant Intelligent Traffic Infrastructure

The Modernity Fund mFund from the German Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure is funding the one-year HITeC project “SmartWalk” – privacy-compliant intelligent traffic infrastructure (funding code 19F1087A) [1,2].

The number of registered vehicles is increasing year by year, despite new, innovative traffic concepts. According to OECD road safety data, the number of cyclists killed in traffic has increased by 17.0% since 2010. So there is an urgent need to warn road users of potential road hazards.

The HITeC project “SmartWalk”, with its partners Natix, Bercman and Aric, therefore aims to develop an intelligent traffic infrastructure while protecting vulnerable road users such as cyclists and pedestrians. In the project, a smart street sign for a crosswalk is equipped with an intelligent, data-protected camera system that uses innovative AI technologies. Using multisensor fusion of anonymized and interpreted data, the “SmartWalk” detects critical traffic situations and warns vulnerable road users. The pilot test is to be put into practice in Hamburg and Tartu. The standardized and processed data in the system can also support traffic planning and management.

[1] Short description
[2] Press Release

Projektpartner:
* NATIX GmbH
* Bercman
* ARIC

SmartWalk – Privacy Compliant Intelligent Traffic Infrastructure

Der Modernitätsfonds mFund vom Bundesministerium für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur fördert das einjährige HITeC-Projekt „SmartWalk“ – Datenschutzkonforme intelligente Verkehrsinfrastruktur (Förderkennzeichen 19F1087A) [1,2].

Die Zahl der zugelassenen Fahrzeuge nimmt von Jahr zu Jahr zu, trotz neuer, innovativer Verkehrskonzepte. Laut den OECD-Daten zur Straßenverkehrssicherheit ist die Zahl der im Verkehr getöteten Radfahrer seit 2010 um 17,0 % gestiegen. Es besteht ein dringender Bedarf, Verkehrsteilnehmer vor potenziellen Gefahren im Straßenverkehr zu warnen.

Das HITeC-Projekt „SmartWalk“ hat deshalb zum Ziel mit seinen Partnern Natix, Bercman und Aric eine intelligente Verkehrsinfrastruktur zu entwickeln und gleichzeitig gefährdete Verkehrsteilnehmer wie Radfahrer und Fußgänger zu schützen. In dem Projekt wird ein intelligentes Straßenschild für einen Fußgängerüberweg mit einem intelligenten, datengeschützten Kamerasystem ausgestattet, das innovative KI-Technologien nutzt. Mittels Multisensor-Fusion von anonymisierten und interpretierten Daten erkennt der „SmartWalk“ kritische Verkehrssituationen und warnt die gefährdeten Verkehrsteilnehmer. Der Pilotversuch soll in Hamburg und Tartu in die Praxis umgesetzt werden. Die standardisierten und aufbereiteten Daten im System können zudem die Verkehrsplanung und –management unterstützen.

[1] Steckbrief
[2] Pressemitteilung

Projektpartner:
* NATIX GmbH
* Bercman
* ARIC